Radio Inventor Marconi with Prof Marc Raboy

This is the extended of Kris Abel’s eBook Cafe chat with Marc Raboy, Professor of Ethics, Media, and Communication at McGill University. His book, Marconi: The Man Who Networked The World is a biography of the technology inventor at very origin of today’s wireless world. www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/marconi For more info: www.mcgill.ca/ahcs/people-contacts/faculty/raboy Prof. Raboy’s eBook Pick: The...
Read More

Toronto Film Reference Library With Michelle Thomson Jason Cheong

In this extended edition of What She Said’s eBook Cafe, Kris Abel takes you for a special behind-the-scenes tour of the Toronto Film Reference Library with Michelle Lovegrove Thomson, Senior Manager, and Jason Cheong, Manager of Special Collections. For more info visit: www.tiff.net/library/ Michelle’s eBook Picks: Hamilton Babylon by Steven Broomer www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/hamilton-babylon Bright Lights, Dark...
Read More

Biomechanics Exhibit With Prof. Mark Westneat

Here is the extended edition of Kris Abel’s interview with Professor Mark Westneat of the University of Chicago and Research Associate, Field Museum. The Biomechanics: The Machine Inside is currently on display at the Ontario Science Centre: www.ontariosciencecentre.ca For more info visit: westneatlab.uchicago.edu/page/mark-w-westneat Mark’s eBook Pick: The books of Steven Vogel www.kobo.com/ca/en/search?query…searchfield=Author

Company Town With Madeline Ashby

Here’s the extended edition of Kris Abel’s interview with author Madeline Ashby about her latest science fiction novel Company Town For more info visit: madelineashby.com/ Company Town by Madeline Ashby www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/company-town-1 Madeline’s eBook pick: Rasputin’s Bastards by David Nickle www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/rasputin-s-bastards-1

The Wish Tree & Birds Art Life With Kyo Maclear

In this extended edition of our eBook Cafe Kris Abel chats with author Kyo Maclear about her children’s book The Wish Tree, illustrated by Chris Turnham, and her upcoming book for adults on bird-watching called Birds Art Life. For more info visit: kyomaclearkids.com/ The Wish Tree www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/the-wish-tree-1 Birds Art Life www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/birds-art-life Kyo’s Book Recommendation: Ways...
Read More

Secrets of Gems With Jewelry Maker Niki Kavakonis

Here’s the extended version of Kris Abel’s eBook Cafe interview with Toronto-based jewelry maker Niki Kavakonis. Niki designs rings, earrings, and necklaces inspired by science and the natural world that showcase the hidden features of precious stones. For more info visit: www.nikikavakonisdesigns.com/ Niki’s eBook Pick: Bang! by Brian May, Patrick Moore, and Chris Lintott www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/bang-1

Arthur Conan Doyle Collection’s Peggy Perdue On Rare Sherlock Books

This is the extended edition of Kris Abel’s eBook Cafe talk with Peggy Perdue, Librarian in Charge of the Arthur Conan Doyle Special Collection at the Toronto Public Library. For more info visit: www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/books-video…e-doyle.jsp www.bakerstreetirregulars.com/ Peggy’s eBook Choices: The Nero Wolfe stories by Rex Stout www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/fer-de-lance-2 Miss Mackenzie by Anthony Trollope www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/miss-mackenzie-6

Wildlife Photographer of the Year Finalist Jen Guyton On Conservation & Photography

This is the extended edition of Kris Abel’s interview with conservationist and wildlife photographer Jen Guyton. Her Meerkat photograph is a finalist in this year’s Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibit, currently on display at the Royal Ontario Museum. www.jenguyton.com/kalahari-meerkats For more info: www.jenguyton.com/ www.rom.on.ca/en/wildlife2016#/gallery/recent

Comic Book Creator Jenn Woodall On Zines, Magical Beatdown

<iframe width=”100%” height=”166″ scrolling=”no” frameborder=”no” src=”https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/292900711&amp;color=ff5500&amp;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;show_comments=true&amp;show_user=true&amp;show_reposts=false”></iframe> Here’s the extended edition of Kris Abel’s interview with Jenn Woodall, comic book creator and artist. Recorded at the Canzine festival at the Art Gallery of Ontario, Jenn discusses Zine culture and her new series Magical Beatdown. Jenn’s eBook Pick: We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley...
Read More

Black Widow Spiders With Arachnologist Catherine Scott

For our Halloween episode we visit entomologist and arachnologist Catherine Scott in her lab for a fun chat about Black Widow spiders and her favourite books. You can learn more about Catherine’s work and help fund her research by joining #TeamBlackWidow at: experiment.com/projects/performa…etitive-advantage Catherine’s book picks include: Oryx And Crake by Margaret Atwood store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/oryx-and-crake-1 Spider...
Read More

Sam Maggs On Her New Book, Wonder Women

In this extended edition of our eBook series, Kris Abel meets author Sam Maggs to explore her new book Wonder Women which profiles 25 trailblazing women on STEM throughout history. For more info visit: sammaggs.com/ Wonder Women the eBook: store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/wonder-women-8 Sam’s recommended read: The Long Way To A Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/the…-angry-planet-2